Rohwer Research Station

A division of the Southeast Research and Extension Center

The mission of the Rohwer Research Station is to help solve problems related to agricultural production in southeast Arkansas. These include weed, insect and disease control and scheduling the proper amounts of irrigation applied to each crop grown in the area. Research has covered the evaluation of early season soybeans and establishing an irrigation program that can be used by farmers in the area. Emphasis has been on the establishment of a rotation or double-crop research program with early maturing soybeans.

The research program at the station is under the supervision of agricultural scientists at Fayetteville, Stuttgart and Monticello. The work is coordinated with the overall research program of the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station to assist the agricultural industry of the entire state. Research is conducted on cotton, rice, soybeans and other crops.
The station is 15 miles northeast of McGehee on Arkansas Highway 1 in Desha County.

Rohwer Research Center Staff Members
Rohwer Research Station staff members are (from left) Randy Cingolani, David Roberts, Ervin Penny, Roosevelt Dye, Kenneth Gamble, Tanya Hughes, Leonard Swopes, and Larry Earnest. Not pictured: David Bentley, Scott Hayes, and Randy Spurlock.


140 Experiment Station Loop 
P.O. Box 155 
Rohwer, AR 71666 (near Kelso) 
Larry Earnest, Director:


Driving directions:

From Hwy. 65, exit on Hwy. 138 East at Winchester and proceed approximately 15 miles to Hwy. 1.  The Station is located at the intersection of Hwy. 138 and Hwy. 1.  The Station office is approximately .75 miles north of the intersection.